|photo from contexttravel.com|
Most sparkling wine and champagne is not vegan, but Domaine Carneros is. . .
Wine goes through a process called "Remuage," the clarifying process after the second fermentation process, which is where the bubbles come from. The fermentation process typically leaves sediment, usually pushed through the necks of the inverted bottles by either egg whites or isinglass (an extract from sturgeon bladders). Then this agent is removed from the wine, but there are particles left over. Domaine Carneros uses "Clarifiant S, sodium bentonite," a clay-based product, to remove the sediment and clarify the sparkling wine, thus eliminating the animal products and making a vegan wine.